Preview: Leicester City v Man Utd

Defenders Luke Shaw, Eric Bailly, Axel Tuanzebe and Phil Jones are all injured. But Boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will give these players every chance to feature against the Foxes in their league match at Leicester. Shaw has been sidelined since hurting his ankle against his former club Southampton. Bailly missed the 1-1 draw with West Ham after picking up a head injury in the Emirates semi-final cup loss to Chelsea.

“We’re going to give them as much time as possible,” the boss told MUTV’s Stewart Gardner, when asked for the latest on Shaw and Bailly. “I’m not ruling anything out.”

Aaron Wan-Bissaka was on the bench for the Hammers clash but came on at half-time for Tim Fosu-Mensah in his usual right-back role.

It remains to be seen whether there are any tweaks to the line-up or formation for the huge encounter as Solskjaer considers his selection for what has been described as a ‘final’ for the club.

“You’d expect players to feel it towards the end of the season anyway,” Ole added. “This season has been a strange one as everyone knows. We’ve had five weeks playing now and all teams have got issues whether it be mental or physical injury-wise.”

“We’re in a very good position going into the last game even though I’m not sure some of the players are feeling it, but now is not the time to look for pains and aches. Now is the time to get 90 minutes in.”


Leicester boss Brendan Rodgers looks set to be without suspended defender Caglar Soyuncu and a number of injured players – Ben Chilwell, Ricardo Pereira, Christian Fuchs, Daniel Amartey and James Maddison.

There are hopes Marc Albrighton can be fit in time, while the league’s leading scorer, Jamie Vardy, will lead the line.

The referee will be Martin Atkinson. Sunday’s game will be broadcast live in the UK, on Sky Sports Main Event, and will kick-off for 16:00 BST. MUTV subscribers can watch exclusive build-up in the Match Day Live Show from 14:55 BST followed by live commentary of the game itself. In the US the game can be seen live at 11 am ET on NBC.


Leave a Reply